amazing grace

post inspired by this

hello my name is judiclaire and I am a sinner.

and because I am a sinner, I have this thought a lot, if God’s grace is for everyone, then why do I (a suburban white christian girl, with relatively good grades, and what I would consider a good person) get the same grace as a serial killer, or a rapist, or a gunman.

I try to brush it off, reminding myself that their brokenness came from someone else’s brokenness.

Hurt comes from Hurt.

I try to remind myself that as human’s on this earth, and we’re all fighting battles. Winning some, losing most. Their losses are just a little bit bigger than mine.

In this post, God’s grace vs. goodwill, is a very important distinction to make when talking about grace.

Goodwill is “friendly, helpful, or cooperative feelings or attitude.”

Goodwill is not a justification for actions. It’s almost a search for an explanation. Sin is deep, and usually requires an explanation that can’t be given.

Searching for an explanation, instead of getting the gift we have been given. Taking it with open arms and being forever grateful. I will never be able to understand

We have already been forgiven, we have already been set free.

Amazing grace how sweet the sound
That saved a wretch like me.
I once was lost but now I’m found.
Was blind but now I see.
‘Twas grace that taught my heart to fear
And grace my fears relieved.
How precious did that grace appear
The hour I first believed.

You did this wrong, but look, I did this right. You have everything you need now. Follow Me in peace. Go now in freedom.

Walk now in abundance.

Grace is giving yourself a free pass and realizing that it isn’t free at all.

Grace is giving someone else a free pass and realizing God has already passed His along.

 

To all of us. {1}
Humans have a constant need to beat themselves up. Walk around the world, and open your ears. Hear the contant berade against ourselves. Theres always something to put down.
We are really really really good at swimming in doubt and guilt. And it’s just something that we’ve been taught. It’s been conditioned into us to beat ourselves down time after time with even the most minimialist mistake.
It’s too much and too little, and no one feels they deserve this favor with God.
so where do we go from here?
If accepting God’s Grace, and being able to give it freely is up, why does it feel like I’m constantly going down?
Ephesians 4:7 says “But to each one of us grace has been given as Christ apportioned it.”
Ephesians 2: 8-9 says “8 For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith—and this is not from yourselves, it is the gift of God— 9 not by works, so that no one can boast.”
For it is by grace you have been saved

You’ve already been saved, grace has already been given to you. Life goes on. But having this grace makes you be able to spread it to other people. Gunmans, Rapists, and Serial Killers. It’s hard. It freaking sucks. But this amazing grace is something we cannot keep to ourselves.
Amazing grace how sweet the sound
That saved a wretch like me.
I once was lost but now I’m found.
Was blind but now I see.
‘Twas grace that taught my heart to fear
And grace my fears relieved.
How precious did that grace appear
The hour I first believed.

{1} quote from http://designformankind.com/

 

Leave a Reply

