dare to be the light

Ever since I’ve started to write, Jesus has been putting little clicks and clues around my life, and this one just happened to come from an instagram bio.

There are words and phrases in the english language that are meant to stop us for a minute, to think.

“Take that back”

“Did you really do enough”

“Stop”

“What did you do wrong”

Any of those phrases, can take a second to process, and I believe and phrase with the word Dare in it, deserves that same 2 second pause

Matthew 5:16 ” In the same way, let your light shine before others, that they may see your good deeds and glorify your Father in heaven.” 

Now the word light is mentioned in the bible 232 times. Many of them comparing God to the light, as one usually does. But the verse above compares YOU to the same light.

“In the same way, let your light shine before others, that they may see your good deeds and glorify your Father in heaven.

Dare to be the Light brings that verse into a totally new context, for me at least. Yes Jesus is the light, yes I have that light, but to be the light?

The main ministry I’m involved in, is one where people know what their getting themselves into. (You can read about Chrysalis here) They know there coming to a Jesus weekend. Although they may not have the most firm faith life, they know they’re coming to a bunch of Christian People. I have no idea how to be the light to someone else, esp someone random in my life.

But being the light does not mean I need to hit someone over the head with a bible, or speak in tongues right in front of them. I don’t need to get on my knees and start praying right there in order for someone to see me as the light. The other day, just by asking someone if they were okay, and listening to them talk about their bad day. Or just by explaining that I was going to a church service one Friday night, and answering 3 brief questions about it. Never anywhere does it say your first light needs to be a burst. You can be a twinkly light before a flashlight, and that’s completely fine.

It’s the Dare part of the phrase that really gets to me. Faith is hard to share. Through social media, and sometimes a tshirt, I feel like I’m doing my part, but at that point i’m not Daring to be the light, I’m wearing things that may or may not spread it.

In this new era of my life, I’m actively daring to be the light, instead of happening to sometimes be it. By daring to be the light, I find myself pursing more of him, and isn’t that all you can hope for in this life?

Leave a Reply

