Overcome

Some songs that motivated this post (x) (x) (x) (x)

John 16:33 33 “I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.”

4 months ago I was introduced to this verse. It didn’t really mean anything at that point to me. Sure God had overcome a lot in my life, but only when I had a community of believers surrounding me. God had never overcome in something personal, something that meant to something to me. I had been introduced to God, I believed in him, I worshiped him freely, I had a super strong faith life, but never had God “overcome the world”.

Yet tonight Jesus overcame every pain, trouble, hurt and demon that has been trapping itself inside of me.

For the past week, my demons have been louder that anything else in my life. Everything that was supposed to go right went left, and I had a Jesus shaped hole in my heart, that Satan had stuffed depression, sadness, loneliness, anger, resentment, and himself into. You know how you’re always supposed to keep God on you’re shoulder. Well Satan had kicked God off, and God was so far on the floor, he wasn’t getting back up. But then, he did. God was working around me, when I couldn’t see it, feel it, or hear it.

There were only two people who knew about my demons, and their reappearance and settling in. One of them challenges me daily to recount my God sightings. I get a text asking “Where did you see God today” and this person is not one who lets me get away without answering. I thought and thought, and truthfully could not think of anything. Jesus was lacking, and the whole day had been utter crap. But the fun thing about highschool, (and adulthood I’m sure) is even on utterly crappy day, you have stuff that needs to get done. For me, it was 3 pages of history terms, and a quizlet on Dr. Seuss terms for the 2nd grade class i’m interning in. I turned on my 9 hour Christian music playlist, and the first song was called Matter. Which definitely could have been coincidental compared to my current mood. I kept listening, and kept defining. The second song was one called Even If. Definitely still could have been coincidence. The next two songs that came on we’re Oceans and Thy Will be Done and by the fourth song I was starting to be convinced that this was no coincidence. By the time the fifth song in the shuffle came on (Alive in You) came on, it was as blatant as if Jesus had picked up the phone and texted me. God was telling me he was still here. Through my cracked pieces, his light was shining through, and even though the light was only impacting me, it was never something I wanted to let go of. He was reminding me that he wasn’t leaving. He was working, around me, in ways I couldn’t yet see, but he was working.

Some lyrics from the 5th song on the list that really hit me

You are God, You’re the Great “I Am”
Breath of life I breathe You in
Even in the fire, I’m alive in You!

You are strong in my brokenness

For I was lost but now I’m found
Cause even death can’t hold You down

It’s no longer I who lives but Christ
Who lives with in me, Christ who lives with in me

(I highly highly recommend that everyone goes and listens to the song)

My demons were loud, and blinding, and I couldn’t hear or understand anything else that was going on around me. Not my support system, not the friends, not God.

But Jesus is bigger and better and louder and prouder than the pain, hurt, fear, temptation and suffering that may be going on in your life.

Let me say it again so it really sinks in

“But Jesus is bigger and better and louder and prouder than the pain, hurt, fear, temptation and suffering that may be going on in your life” 

Through Christ we are all Alive in Him. Jesus Christ has overcome my demons, the world’s pain, and suffering, and sin, like everywhere.

Being Alive in Him is one of the greatest joys of my life, and knowing he has overcome everything in my life is even greater.

33 “I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.”

 

 

Leave a Reply

